US Open…

…the 2013 US Open is now well into it’s first week and as such it’s the perfect time for this post to go out.  Towards the end of last year I was invited by Beth from the USTA to submit some artwork for the 2013 tournament to cover posters, tickets and merchandise.  The brief was very open, I was encouraged to tackle the project in my own individual way.

There are three main concepts, two of which have variations.  The USTA logo was not required within the images but the logo for the US Open was and that was about it, any further details and type could have been added later.

Potentially this would have been a massive project for me and although my work was not finally chosen it was a great experience and one that I am very grateful to have been considered for and therefore a big thank you to Beth and also thanks to Gail Gaynin my Rep at Morgan Gaynin for the help and encouragement offered…

The first concept is the service toss, I think I prefer the first of these???

US Open, Tennis, USTA, Paul Garland

US Open, Tennis, USTA, Paul Garland

 

Secondly a tribute to Andy Roddick who retired at the end of last year’s tournament…

US Open, Tennis, USTA, Paul Garland

US Open, Tennis, USTA, Paul Garland

 

And finally the Champion’s champagne bottle being ‘popped’…

US Open, Tennis, USTA, Paul Garland

Leave a Reply

